Quebec City celebrates CanLit during the ImagiNation Writers’ Festival

From April 3 to 8, 2018, the Morrin Centre will be hosting its ninth annual writers’ festival. Building on popular recurring activities, such as the Books and Wine pairing event, and the Books and Brunch activity, the festival will present a smorgasbord of celebrated authors, translators, and artists, during a week-long celebration of Canada’s diversity, and rich history and culture.


Some of the headlining authors include Indigenous writers David Wolfman (cooking demonstration on April 7), and Lee Maracle (Books and Brunch onApril 8). Other visiting writers include hockey dad, Karl Subban, visual artists Kyo Maclear and Jack Breakfast, literary stars Elizabeth Hay and Barbara Reid, as well as musicians Ron SexsmithGary Barwin and Randall Spear. Festival events will explore themes including Quebec history, the giants of CanLit, contemporary science fiction, post-traumatic stress disorder, translation, seeking out nature in urban settings, and First Nation cultures.


Don’t miss this opportunity to connect with English-language authors from across the country, in the heart of Old Quebec. For more information on the complete program, and to purchase a festival pass or single event ticket, visit or contact the Morrin Centre at 418-694-9147.


The festival is made possible thanks to the support of many partners, including Canadian Heritage, the Canada Council for the Arts, and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.


About the Morrin Centre

As an English-language cultural centre located in Quebec City’s historical quarter, the Morrin Centre is a leading cultural institution of national standing, providing the Anglophone and Francophone public with rich, engaging programming in the areas of heritage interpretation, education, and the arts. Building upon our Centre’s history and key institutions, our programming aims to provide historical perspective on the region’s unique French-English heritage, develop enhanced educational opportunities for youth, and act as a springboard for artistic creativity.

Léonie Gagnon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Québec célèbre l’imaginaire canadien lors du festival littéraire du Morrin Centre

Du 3 au 8 avril 2018, le Morrin Centre présentera son neuvième festival littéraire annuel ImagiNation. Misant sur des activités populaires récurrentes, telles que son activité d’accords bouquins et vins, ainsi que son brunch littéraire, le festival présentera une riche gamme d’auteurs, de traducteurs et d’artistes lors d’une célébration de la diversité, de l’histoire et de la culture canadiennes.

 

Parmi les auteurs de grande renommée présents cette année, on compte le hockey dad, père de trois joueurs dans la LNH, Karl Subban, l’auteure et comedienne, Véronique Côté, les auteurs autochtones, David Wolfman (démonstration culinaire le 7 avril) et Lee Maracle (Brunch littéraire le 8 avril), ainsi que les artistes visuels Kyo Maclear et Jack Breakfast. Le festival présentera également des événements avec les auteures récompensées Elizabeth Hay et Barbara Reid, ainsi que les musiciens Ron SexsmithGary Barwin et Randall Spear. Les événements du festival exploreront plusieurs thèmes, incluant l’histoire québécoise, les géants du monde littéraire canadien, la science-fiction contemporaine, le syndrome post-traumatique, la traduction, la quête de la nature en milieu urbain, ainsi que les cultures des Premières Nations.

 

Ne manquez pas cette opportunité de rencontrer des auteurs de langue anglaise de partout au pays, au cœur du Vieux-Québec. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de la programmation complète et pour acheter un laissez-passer du festival ou des billets pour des événements spécifiques, visitez le morrin.org ou communiquez avec le Morrin Centre au 418 694-9147.

 

Le festival est rendu possible grâce au soutien de plusieurs partenaires, incluant Patrimoine canadien, le Conseil des arts du Canada, ainsi que le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

 

À propos du Morrin Centre

En tant que centre culturel de langue anglaise situé au cœur du Vieux-Québec, le Morrin Centre est une institution culturelle de premier rang, offrant aux francophones et aux anglophones une programmation riche dans les secteurs de l’interprétation du patrimoine, de l’éducation et des arts. Le Centre cherche à bâtir sa programmation autour de l’histoire de l’édifice et d’institutions clés afin qu’elle puisse offrir une perspective historique sur le patrimoine francophone et anglophone unique de la ville, développer des opportunités d’apprentissage pour les jeunes et être un tremplin pour la création artistique

 

Pour questions et demandes d’entrevues :

Elizabeth Perreault
DIRECTRICE DU DÉVELOPPEMENT ET DES COMMUNICATIONS 

Elizabeth Perreault

418 694-9147 poste 223

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *