Sparking Imagination in Children

The Morrin Centre’s tenth annual writers’ festival brings stories to life in schools

From April 2 to 7, 2019, the Morrin Centre will be celebrating its tenth annual Imagination writers’ festival. Twenty-six authors will travel from coast to coast to share their stories, ideas, and imagination with audiences of all ages. In addition to the events being held at the Morrin Centre, the festival’s programming this year includes 24 activities outside its walls,in elementary and high schools, as well as at Champlain St. Lawrence College.

Sheree Fitch, Vikki VanSickle, Lorina Mapa, Waubgeshig Rice, and Lisa Moore are the authors who will be traveling throughout Quebec City, Lévis, and Portneuf to meet students in English-speaking and French-speaking schools. They will give talks and workshops in English, offering teachers and their classes the opportunity to connect with these authors in the context of their mother tongue or in that of their second language. In many cases, these intergenerational encounters allow students to meet published writers in the flesh for a first time, and lead to surprising discussions that reflect their interests. Portneuf Elementary, La petite école Vision Lévis, Quebec High School, and the Collège Saint-Charles-Garnier are some of the schools who have partnered with the Morrin Centre on the occasion of Imagination 2019.

For the president of the Literary and Historical Society of Quebec, Barry Holleman, “outreach and engagement with the community are at the heart of the Morrin Centre’s vision. We want to continue developing projects with partners in education and offer a variety of cultural experiences to young audiences across our region that reflect our country’s diverse cultural fabric.” Quebec City’s English-language cultural hub works with teachers and school boards to host activities with writers and artists outside its walls all year round. As an example of this, Central Quebec School Board’s Performing Arts Festival to be held on March 29 is another event for which the Centre will be bringing writers to Quebec City. On this occasion, the Centre will present workshops with two storytellers on travel writing and song writing.

A variety of activities exploring literacy, arts, and sciences are put together by the Centre’s Education Coordinator Azanie Roy, to allow youth to access cultural programming around the year. The Centre’s children’s programming has expanded considerably since September 2018 and now includes coding workshops, a hands-on music series titled It’s Instrumental!, as well as a theatre project with high school students.

Imagination in schools: a short history

Education, heritage, and the arts are the three pillars that guide the Morrin Centre’s mission. Building on its rich history and the institutions that shaped it, including the Morrin College (1868-1902), the Centre is committed to allowing students of all ages to connect with authors and develop a love of reading. The Centre’s programming aims to provide historical perspective on the region’s unique French-English heritage, develop enhanced educational opportunities for youth, and act as a springboard for artistic creativity. Writers have been visiting schools through Imagination every year since the festival’s beginnings in 2010.

About the authors

Sheree Fitch is a multi-award-winning writer, speaker, educator and the author of over 30 books in a variety of genres. Since the publication of her first book, Toes in My Nose in 1987, she’s travelled the globe as a visiting poet ad storyteller, writing instructor and literacy educator. A popular presenter at literary festivals, libraries, and conferences, Fitch has received the Vicky Metcalf Award for a body of work inspirational to Canadian children and three honorary doctorates for her contribution to Canadian literature and issues affecting women and children. She owns Mabel Murple’s Book Shoppe and Dreamery, a seasonal book shop in rural Nova Scotia. 

Lisa Moore has written three collections of short stories, Degrees of Nakedness, Open, and her most recent publication, Something for Everyone, which was long-listed for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. She is the author of three novels, AlligatorFebruary, and Caught, as well as a stage play based on her novel February. Open, Caught, and Alligator were short-listed for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and February was long-listed for the Man Booker Prize and won Canada Reads. Lisa has also published a young adult novel called Flannery

She selected and introduced The Penguin Book of Canadian Contemporary of Women’s Short Stories and Racket: New Writing Made in Newfoundland. She was the co-editor, along with Dede Crane, of Great Expectations: 24 True Stories about Childbirth, and co-editor, along with Alex Marland, of The Democracy Cookbook, a collection of essays about governance in Newfoundland. Lisa is an Associate Professor at Memorial University. 

Lorina Mapa was born in Manila in 1970 and at the age of sixteen moved with her family to Washington DC. In 1990 she graduated from the Kubert School of Cartoon and Graphic Art in New Jersey where she met her artist husband Daniel Shelton (creator of the comic strip Ben). They have four children and live in Hudson, QC, Canada. Her graphic novel Duran Duran, Imelda Marcos and Me (“touching and joyous” – Publisher’s Weekly; “the emotion shines through on every page” – Booklist) has been featured on the CBC and Conde Nast Traveller, and nominated by the American Library Association as a Great Graphic Novel for Teens.

Waubgeshig Rice is an author and journalist originally from Wasauksing First Nation. His first short story collection, Midnight Sweatlodge, was inspired by his experiences growing up in an Anishinaabe community, and won an Independent Publishers Book Award in 2012. His debut novel, Legacy, followed in 2014. He currently works as a multi-platform journalist for CBC in Sudbury. In 2014, he received the Anishinabek Nation’s Debwewin Citation for excellence in First Nation Storytelling. Waubgeshig now splits his time between Sudbury and Wasauksing.

Vikki VanSickle is the author of a number of acclaimed novels for children including Words That Start With B, Summer Days, Starry Nights, the award-winning The Winnowing and the picture book If I Had a Gryphon. Vikki started her career as a bookseller and she now balances her writing with her job as Marketing Director at Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers. She lives in Toronto with her cat, Barb.

The festival is made possible thanks to the support of many partners, including the Government of Canada, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, and the Entente de développement culturel.

– 30 –

For questions and interview requests:

Elizabeth Perreault

Development and Communications Director

elizabethperreault@morrin.org

Elizabeth Perreault

418 694-9147 ext. 223

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Éveiller l’imagination des enfants

La dixième édition du festival d’écrivains du Morrin Centre donne vie aux histoires dans les écoles

Du 2 au 7 avril 2019, le Morrin Centre célébrera la dixième édition de son festival d’écrivains Imagination. Vingt-six auteurs de partout au pays viendront faire partager leurs histoires, leurs idées et leur imagination à des publics de tous âges. En plus des événements prévus au Morrin Centre, la programmation du festival comprend cette année vingt-quatre activités qui se tiendront à l’extérieur de ses murs, dans des écoles primaires et secondaires, ainsi qu’au Collège régional Champlain St. Lawrence.   

Les auteur.e.s Sheree Fitch, Vikki VanSickle, Lorina Mapa, Waubgeshig Rice et Lisa Moore parcourront les villes de Québec, de Lévis et de Portneuf pour rencontrer les élèves d’écoles anglophones et francophones. Ils donneront des conférences et des ateliers en anglais; les enseignants et leurs élèves auront donc l’occasion d’entrer en relation avec eux dans leur langue maternelle ou dans leur langue seconde. Dans bien des cas, ces échanges intergénérationnels permettent aux élèves de rencontrer pour la première fois des auteur.e.s publié.e.s en personne, et suscitent des discussions étonnantes qui reflètent leurs intérêts. Parmi les écoles qui se sont associées au Morrin Centre dans le cadre d’Imagination 2019, mentionnons la Portneuf Elementary School, La petite école Vision Lévis, Quebec High School et le Collège Saint-Charles-Garnier. 

Comme le souligne le président de la Literary and Historical Society of Quebec, Barry Holleman, « le rayonnement et l’engagement dans la communauté sont au cœur de la vision du Morrin Centre. Nous voulons continuer à développer des projets avec des partenaires en éducation et à offrir une variété d’expériences culturelles aux jeunes publics de notre région, qui reflètent la diversité du tissu culturel de notre pays ». Le centre culturel de langue anglaise à Québec travaille de concert avec les enseignants et les commissions scolaires dans le but de proposer des activités avec des auteur.e.s et des artistes à l’extérieur de ses murs toute l’année. Par exemple, le Morrin Centre fera venir des auteures à Québec dans le cadre du Festival des arts de la scène de la Commission scolaire Central Québec, qui se tiendra le 29 mars. À cette occasion, il présentera des ateliers avec deux écrivaines portant sur les récits de voyage et l’écriture de chansons.       

Une variété d’activités dans les domaines littéraire, artistique et scientifique sont organisées par la coordonnatrice aux projets éducatifs du Morrin Centre, Azanie Roy, pour permettre aux jeunes de profiter de sa programmation culturelle toute l’année. La programmation pour enfants du Morrin Centre s’est considérablement élargie depuis septembre 2018 et comprend maintenant des ateliers de codage, une série d’ateliers musicaux dans le cadre du programme C’est instrumental !, ainsi qu’un projet théâtral avec des élèves du secondaire.

Imagination dans les écoles : un bref historique

L’éducation, le patrimoine et les arts sont les trois piliers de la mission du Morrin Centre. En s’appuyant sur sa riche histoire et sur les institutions qui l’ont façonné, notamment le Morrin College (1868-1902), le Morrin Centre souhaite permettre aux élèves de tous âges de rencontrer des auteurs et de développer leur amour de la lecture. La programmation du Morrin Centre vise à offrir une perspective historique sur le patrimoine francophone et anglophone unique de la région, à développer des occasions d’apprentissage pour les jeunes et à être un tremplin pour la création artistique. Des écrivains se rendent dans les écoles dans le cadre du festival Imagination chaque année depuis sa création, en 2010.     

Au sujet des auteur.e.s

Sheree Fitch est une écrivaine, conférencière et éducatrice récipiendaire de nombreux prix, et l’auteure de plus de 30 livres de genres variés. Depuis la publication de son premier livre, Toes in My Nose, en 1987, elle a sillonné la planète en tant que poète invitée et conteuse, professeure d’écriture et enseignante en alphabétisation. Animatrice populaire dans les festivals littéraires, les bibliothèques et les conférences, Fitch a reçu le prix Vicky Metcalf pour ses publications inspirantes pour les enfants canadiens, et trois doctorats honorifiques pour sa contribution à la littérature canadienne et aux questions touchant les femmes et les enfants. Elle est la propriétaire de Mabel Murple’s Book Shoppe and Dreamery, une librairie saisonnière dans la campagne néo-écossaise. 

Lorina Mapa est née à Manile en 1970 et à déménagé à Washington DC avec sa famille à l’âge de seize ans. En 1990, elle a gradué du Kubert School of Cartoon and Graphic Art au New Jersey. C’est là qu’elle a rencontré son époux, l’artiste Daniel Shelton (créateur des bandes dessinées Ben). Ils ont quatre enfants et vivent à Hudson au Québec. CBC et Conde Nast Traveller ont couvert la sortie de son roman graphique Duran Duran, Imelda Marcos and Me, tandis que la American Library Association l’a mis en nomination dans la catégorie Great Graphic Novel for Teens.

Lisa Moore a écrit trois recueils de nouvelles : Degrees of Nakedness, Open, et son plus récent, Something for Everyone, qui a été en lice pour le prix Giller de la Banque Scotia. Elle est l’auteure de trois romans : AlligatorFebruary et Caught, ainsi que d’une pièce basée sur son roman February. Open, Caught et Alligator ont été finalistes pour le prix Giller de la Banque Scotia, et February a été en lice pour le Man Booker Prize et gagnant de Canada Reads. Lisa a également publié un roman destiné aux jeunes adultes intitulé Flannery

Elle a sélectionné et présenté les textes de The Penguin Book of Canadian Contemporary of Women’s Short Stories et de Racket : New Writing Made in Newfoundland. Elle a codirigé avec Dede Crane Great Expectations : 24 True Stories about Childbirth, et codirigé avec Alex Marland The Democracy Cookbook, un recueil d’essais portant sur la gouvernance à Terre-Neuve. Lisa est professeure agrégée à l’Université Memorial. 

Waubgeshig Rice est un auteur et un journaliste issu de la Première Nation Wasauksing. Son premier recueil de nouvelles, Midnight Sweatlodge, inspiré de ses expériences de jeunesse dans une communauté Anishinaabe, lui a valu un Independent Publishers Book Award en 2012. Son premier roman, Legacy, est paru en 2014. Il travaille actuellement comme journaliste multiplateforme pour CBC à Sudbury. En 2014, il a reçu la Debwewin Citation for excellence in First Nation Storytelling de la Nation Anishinaabe. Waubgeshig partage maintenant son temps entre Sudbury et Wasauksing.      

Vikki VanSickle est l’auteure de plusieurs livres jeunesse à succès, dont Words That Start With B, Summer Days, Starry Nights, le roman primé The Winnowing et l’album If I Had a Gryphon. Vikki a amorcé sa carrière comme libraire, et elle conjugue maintenant l’écriture avec son travail de directrice de la commercialisation des livres jeunesse chez Penguin Random House Canada. Elle vit à Toronto.

Le festival a été rendu possible grâce au soutien de plusieurs partenaires, incluant le gouvernement du Canada, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et l’Entente de développement culturel.

– 30 –

Pour questions et demandes d’entrevues :

Elizabeth Perreault

Directrice du développement et des communications

elizabethperreault@morrin.org

418 694-9147, poste 223

Elizabeth Perreault

418 694-9147 poste 223

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *